Should elder people live in nursing houses or stay with their family members?

Nowadays, the increasing population of older people becomes a problem that many countries need to deal with. People now can live longer than before for due to various reasons. They must be given a decent amount of care so that they do not feel lonely. Living with lots of peers in a beautiful and well-equipped nursing house can be one choice. However, I would advise senior citizens to stay in homes with their family members.

The first reason to address is that now older people are still healthy and active because of advanced medical care and improved life style. Elder people feel that they need to contribute to the community and involve in many activities. If these requirements are not satisfied, then they feel that they are not part of the society, and being excluded. For example, my community just established a resident committee. Most of the members are retired people who want to improve our life in the community. They gather in a hall every week and discuss important issues like building a new gym, and paving sidewalks. By getting involved in activities like that, they contribute to the community and thus gain a sense of fulfillment.

Although living at nursing houses give senior citizens an opportunity to share their stories with peers, they suffers from the loss of family life. Nowadays, elderly people are no longer passive members of a family. They have the capability of shouldering more responsibility after retirement. In fact, the sense of well being for these people depends greatly upon being involved in family duties. For example, my grandmother, over 80 years old now, still cooks lunch for me when I do not need to go to school. My grandfather sweeps the floor and does other chores. They like to take family responsibilities because they feel that they are active members and should get involved in these activities.

As suggested above, living with family members have obvious advantages over living in nursing houses. Elderly people can involve in community and family activities so as to gain a sense of fulfillment and enjoy their life better.