IELTS-Elder people should be looked after by family members or professionals?

In some countries people are not taking care of their elderly relatives - instead trained professionals are used to care for the elderly. Do you see this as a positive or a negative development?

Old age is an unavoidable condition and incurable disease. Nowadays young generation is interested to shift their elder relatives to old age homes where the service of the professionals is available. However, I feel that, it is a negative trend.

Life is not a bed of roses. Elder people in their young life faced a lot of hardships to bring up their children. They are the one who let us walk, speak and face the world. For young people caring their old relatives in their later lives is an excellent opportunity to show their gratitude for giving them a chance to see this wonderful world in very good manner.

Secondly, it is the moral duty of the young people to look after their older parents or relatives. Their attitude towards elder people is an example for the small children of the family and society. Through the behavior of their parents towards their grandparents indulge them the good qualities of how to behave with an old person, how to look after them and so on. it in turn favorable for the young generation as they become old, these small children will look after them in a better way, as they know how their parents interacted with their grandparents.

Lastly, in the evenings of life, these senior citizens deserve fondness and consideration from their own family members. Since they are more attached to their home and its surroundings, it will be a mental trauma for them to live in an old age home. The elder people like to see their children and children and spend time with them. It keeps them relaxed and provide fulfillment.

To conclude, in this materialistic world, people are becoming more selfish and run to achieve more. Still, we should understand the importance of the elder people and the hardships they overcome for us. Therefore, I feel, it is better to give the affection and attention of the family members and not the presence of professionals in the old age home.