IT enables people to do their work at home. What are the pros and cons?

IT enables people to do their work outside their workplace, at home. Pros and cons?

In this day and age, the dominant role of information technology is irrefutable. It facilitates people having optimal conditions for their job achievement and even raises the flexibility of workplace. As a result, officers can now either work at conventional place like their office, or at home. However, the increasing trend represents some merits and demerits.

Working out of office has two clear benefits. The first one is better working productivity. Scrutinizing the working place at home, there are some outstanding features that outweigh offices. Obviously, no distractions rapidly occur at home, however, at offices, people can easily notice the titter of colleagues on mundane topics, or the sound of somebody walking around. The aforementioned elements are highly likely to deteriorate working mood and intervene with the working process inadvertently. Meanwhile, these are mostly avoidable at home and workers are capable of concentrating utterly on their given tasks. Therefore, there are concrete proof that working at home boosts working productivity by dint of the environment it supplies.

The second pros of offline working is that it is both time-saving and economical on taking transportations issues into consideration. On working at home, people no longer have to confront traffic congestion, which means no time is squandered on dusty and crowded roads during rush hours. Besides, home-working requires no vehicles for mobility, thus, reduces the use of fuel like petroleum. With the escalating cost of such fossil fuel these days, staying at home working depicts a much more efficient choice.

Turning to the other side of the argument, home-working gives rise to physical and mental issues as well. Owing to the less-communicated environment at home, the needs of indirect communication like telephones, fax and most frequently, emails, are crescent. As a consequence, diseases in eyes and skeleton like short-sightedness appear in case some spending hours with eyes glued to the screen. Concerning mental problem, it is proved that individualism is developed once people spend too much time working in their own sedentary surrounding, which means there is a tendency of working for one's own sake.

In conclusion, unconventional workplace like home is capable of bringing about some upsides and downsides. Most employers affirm that working environment plays pivotal role. Personally, I think working at home is more efficacious, since it benefits us mentally and economically.