IELTS writing task 2: Environment protection responsibility essay

Hi there, please take a look at and give me your opinions in this essay. Thanks so much!

Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

governments and individual's duty

Environment issues are now becoming a major threat to life on Earth, but some people argue that protection is an obligation of politicians since they have greater impact on a total contribution than individuals. I completely disagree with this opinion because I believe that each of us has a certain role in reducing human impact on Earth.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why politicians are responsible for these problems. Firstly, they are the ones who have been voted by majority in societies and in charge of bringing prosperity to communities. Secondly, they can influence people's habits and opinions by introducing new laws that can regulate the activities of individuals, companies and other polluters then control the pollution. Politicians on behalf of governments could also invest in renewable energy such as solar, wind and water power that limits the emissions of carbon dioxide comparing to fossil fuels. Having such kinds of powerful tools, it is easy to understand why politicians are supposed to be key figure in resolving environmental problems.

However, on the other hand, I still believe that individuals also play an indispensable role to address the problems of environment. For example, each of us should also try to be greener by taking public transport rather than driving, choosing products with less packaging, recycling as much as possible. As the result, the amount of waste and the carbon dioxide emissions has decreased significantly. Furthermore, the public can affect the actions of governments by voting for politicians who propose to concern about environment rather than those who would prefer ignore it.

In conclusion, it is clear to me that protecting the environment is both governments and individual's responsibility and I disagree with those who argue that individuals can do little in this problem.