Face-to-face interaction between people is getting rare these days

The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society

Thanks to technological advancement- with the aid of various state-of-the-art devices, people these days are able to communicate via online social networking sites including Facebook, Messenger or Telegram. As far as I am concerned, there are both upsides and downsides to this phenomenon, yet its drawbacks still prevail. This essay will attempt to expound my standpoint as follows.

To begin with, a great deal of advocates are inclined to the viewpoint that benefits of social platforms are varied. One of the most prominent attractions is the comfort amid distance communication. This is because people nowadays are increasingly accustomed to living in a world that appreciates intelligent gadgets and online apps, thus social media may play an integral role in their maxims. Take Telegram as a vivid illustration, this app enables people all around the world to connect, communicate and discuss their work through video calls with vivid images and stable internet connection and also without any charge of fees. These kinds of social platforms, moreover, are also perceived as a tool that enable far-distance relatives and acquaintances to stay in contact.

On the other hand, despite these aforementioned merits described above, they are still eclipsed by the demerits. First and foremost, being over-reliant on these intelligent apps, people are more susceptible to a serious lack of social skills including face-to-face interaction, basic human contact and the confidence among the crowd. This has mostly stemmed from the fact that over-exposure to social media may discourage real interaction in public such as gestures and touch, which may drive them to the state of alienation and social predisposition. Coupled with this is the potential of cyber-crimes and anonymous hackers, who can easily steal their personal information and take advantage of them for negative purposes.

In conclusion, it is incontrovertible that social networking sites bring in an array of benefits to occupied people as it can save a lot of time for them, yet it seems to me that direct communication could not be superseded due to basic human contact.