The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among humans

face-to-face contact among people becoming increasingly rare

The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In this day and age, development of mass media has played a vital role in spreading knowledge and connecting people all over the world. It is said that social networking platforms have a propensity to replace face-to-face contact among people in society. Although this trend is without disadvantages, the advantages will justify these.

On the one hand, communicating via social media presents an unprecedented paradox. With advanced technologies, people are more favoured to keep in touch with their family but also potentially disconnected to them. Platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Tweeter have developed a communication tool that allow its user to contact, share information of each other without paying any visit. This may create negative impacts on the relationship between an individual and their relatives.

On the flip side, social media has its advantages. Communication is no longer restricted because of geographical barrier since mass media facilitates the interaction among people, enabling them to contact on a 24/7 basis. With solely a click, people can join international network and started chatting, sharing experience or even debating about certain issues. Additionally, social media contains a great deal of knowledge, hence, information exposure become more approachable. Individual can learn at anytime without using conventional method which an educational mentor is required.

In conclusion, although social media may affect people to some extent, I believe that its upsides are more beneficial to society.