IELTS Writing task 2- The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction

The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society.

DO YOU THINK THE ADVANTAGES OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

It is an indisputable fact that in our modern life, the traditional way of communication with other people in person has been replaced with high-tech measures such as Zalo, Facebook. Although I admit there have been a few harmful effects of social media usage, I suppose the changes have been, by and large, beneficial.

A very important advantage of technological methods to consider is that it has created greater opportunities for people who live in rural areas to receive appropriate healthcare services and education. Without a doubt, the use of social media helps these people not just to pursue their studies but also is one of the efficient measures helping doctors provide proper treatment to far-away patients. Furthermore, thanks to technological development, people nowadays do not have to take a long-distance way to go to work, instead of that, they can just simply turn on their computers and communicate with numerous clients and colleagues at home. A concrete example of this is because of the recent pandemic, lots of people have to stay at home and social media becomes an essential way to work and study all over the world.

On the other hand, the use of social networks in an inappropriate way has caused a range of tremendous problems. First of all, modern teenagers tend to communicate by Facebook, Messenger and seem to forget how to speak to a real person in reality. As a result, they do not have opportunities to develop their social skills and lack confidence to speak in front of the crowd when needed. Another disadvantage is that working long hours with electronic devices could damage our vision permanently. Thankfully, there are still several means to tackle those harms, such as creating a routine that allows you to have a break during a long time of using computers so that you can spend more time with your friends and families.

In conclusion, though there are some drawbacks, I strongly believe that the tendency to use social media as a primary measure to communicate generally brings more significant benefits than harms to every individual and community.