Is it feasible for a country provide university places for a high proportion of people?

many people pursuing diplomas

Hi all, l am praticing writing essays in hope of sharpening my writing skill and achieving in high band in IELTS

l hope l would receive feedbacks and commnets from you all

thank you so much !

Many people hold the view that allowing a large proportion of young people to pursue higher education is not practical and useful . From my perspective, I completely agree with this view

There are many reasons why university places for too many students would not be possible. To begin with, if we allowed this hypothesis happened ,there would be an dramatic increase in the number of university students, which means that the university will likely be overloaded for lack of space and facilities and therefore put a great pressure on the state universities. Furthermore ,the support from the governments is an indispensible part for they need to allocate funds to build more many schools and colleges .This is impossible since there are many more other considerable sectors they need to take priority over construction of universities.

I would also argue that even if this aim can be achieved, it would not generate any benefit. Offering many more university places will definitely result in entrance standards set to enter university lowered. As a result, teaching and studying quality is decreased and thereby generating low-qualified graduates. Another consequence worth mentioning is that a large number of graduates possessing the same educational attainments will make it challenging for employers when recruiting suitable candidates for vacant job positions; and one more negative result possibly predicted is this will lead to imbalance in workforce due to the lack of blue collar works working in manual works or factories

In conclusion, ,I completely agree with the belief that increasing the number of places available in universities is not possible and this is useful in the society for the reasons mentioned above.