Ielts writing task 2 - Films making

Task 2: Nowadays it is not only large companies that can make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Films production has been acknowledged as a costly investment, which can only be afforded by big firms. However, the rapid development of digital technology allows even individuals to make movies. I believe that the use of state-of-the-art technology in film making is a positive trend.

Digital technology is beneficial to the film industry in various aspects. First and foremost, financial issues have been a great deterrent to filmmaking newbies. Yet cutting-edge technology involved in producing movies allows passionate youngsters to bring their ideas to the big screen with a micro-budget. In addition, the film crew will be given a scope for creativity without the concerns about revenue since hi-tech has helped to reduce the expenses. The film creators, therefore, can focus on contents and the messages conveyed in order to contribute valuable works of art to the world's heritage.

Digital age opens up opportunities for small film production teams as well as talented actors and actresses to rise. Many blockbusters produced by large studios bombard audiences with visual effects and good-looking actors. Nonetheless, because of poor storyline and shallow messages, nothing remains in audiences' mind as soon as they leave the cinema. By contrast, low-budget indie films produced using simple equipments such as a camera and and a computer are attracting attention for their extraordinary plots. Competent actors and actresses nowadays also seek for these content-centered projects so as to flaunt their acting skills and gain public recognition.

In conclusion, technological innovations open a new era which anyone can produce films. Since there are no limitations to human's creativity, numerous masterpieces will be made perpetually.