[IELTS task 2 essay] Should we first explore our own countries? Discuss?

It is said that travel broadens the mind. What can we learn by travelling to other countries? Should we first explore our own countries? Discuss?

Living in the globalisation age, people nowadays are becoming familiar with an accelerating trend in transnational travel. The argument that travellers, before spending time on exploring other countries, initially should discover their own countries has been embraced by more and more people. Others, however, claim this allegation is flawed as many outstanding merits offered by foreign travel. My essay will analyse advantages of both domestic and overseas travel, then the preference is shared.

There are several excuses in favour of domestic travel first. The principle argument might be to demonstrate a great honour for the homeland. To the land where people were born and bred or even experience most of the lifetime, a fully comprehensive understanding is essential. Perhaps no shame is more deep than the act of standing silently by while receiving a few nation-related questions from a foreigner notwithstanding a vast source of knowledge about other different countries you possess. What is so-called ethnic conscicousness? Admittedly, each individual is a citizen of the globe but first and foremost they are derived from their motherland. That is, they better should genuinely perceive their own national geography and culture first. Plus, only when indigenous inhabitants deeply know about their countries, as an initial way to denote the ethnic pride, do they get high respect from foreginers. Believing that this can assist to boost their beloved nations to a new position in the international arena in terms of multi-fields.

On the contrary, some people tend to prefer transnational travel for many redeeming features. Firstly, as there goes a saying "Travelling forms a young man", oversea travelling is of great educational value. There are precious lessons that people would never get if they travel around their countries solely. For example, only by setting foot on other countries, did Minh Tri absorb the crème de la crème of those and thus find out the way to reform Japanese education. The second overwhelming advantage to note is a sense of the real experience. As technology booms at a staggering speed, it is believed that with just one click of the mouse, everyone can easily access to a wide variety of places worldwide, seeing lively pictures and diving in vivid sounds. Nonetheless, seeing is believing, right at home how can you truly immerse yourself in the myth of London fog or savour all the grandeur of the Great Wall in China? In other words, overseas travel bestow upon us some outstanding merits that domestic one could not.

As illuminated above, either domestic or transnational travel has its own beauties. Nevertheless, I take my own stance that foreign travel should take a back seat. Knowing well about your home country first, you will have a solid foundation and strong confidence to step outside the world.