FSOT - "The so called 'stars' are promoting politicians of their choice'

This is my first timed essay in a long time. I didn't like the prompt and would love to spend more time on it to polish it out. But you have to work with what you get. I'd appreciate any feedback that you offer.

Thanks

Prompt 1

In today's political environment, we have seen the emergence of popular entertainers - singers, musicians, movie stars, and so on - taking center stage to promote and raise money for the candidates of their choice. Some people feel that these entertainers should stick to their own business, while others believe that they have a right, and perhaps even an obligation, to speak their minds. In your view, what do you think the role of entertainers should be in politics? Do they exert undue influence because of their popularity and easy access to the media? Carefully explain the rationale for your position.

There is a great debate in today's political environment about the proper role of entertainers in politics. During the 2008 elections, popular entertainers were heavily involved in the electoral process and raised unprecedented amounts of money for their candidates of choice. Some people would argue that this was not the proper role for entertainers to take. This camp feels that entertainers are able to take advantage of their popularity to exert undue influence over the public. While others argue that popular entertainers have the right and obligation to speak their minds. While it is indeed true that all Americans enjoy freedom of speech as guaranteed by the 1st Amendment of the Constitution, entertainers should recognize that they do in fact enjoy a greater influence on political debate compared to normal Americans thus should refrain from taking center stage while engaging in partisan politics. Instead, they should use their influence to lobby for general bipartisan issues such as disaster relief or raising money for charity.

Those that would argue that entertainers have the right to speak out on political issues might point to the first amendment of the constitution which guarantees freedom of speech. It is absolutely undeniably true that each entertainer has the right to speak their mind on any issue they feel like speaking out on. But is this the proper role for entertainers in politics? Just because an entertainer has the right to speak out in support of their candidate or issue, doesn't mean that this is their proper role. As far as freedom of speech is concerned, it is not always proper to exercise it. Sometimes it is necessary to refrain from exercising this right in order to create a better society.

Now consider the easier access to national media that entertainers enjoy. Increased popularity among the general public allows entertainers to exert great political influence. It should be no doubt that the words of entertainers have greater resonance among the public than the words of the average person. It should also be no doubt that in recent times the amount of partisan debate and mistrust among elected officials has reached increasingly high levels to the point where it is harming American society. For this reason, entertainers should recognize their increased influence and refrain from entering the spotlight to engage in partisan politics.

At the same time, entertainers should not shy away from seizing the opportunity to communicate with large numbers of the public. There are many opportunities for celebrities to promote bipartisan issues that truly need increased exposure. There are many examples of this being successful in the past. The benefit concerts after the September 11th attacks raised millions of dollars for victims and the AIDs advocacy of U2 frontman Bono has had a serious positive effect on the fight against AIDs in Africa. This is a far more proper role for celebrities in politics.

Ultimately, after considering the different sides of the issue, it must be concluded that the proper role of entertainers in politics is not to engage in political parties, but to use their greater influence in order to help promote broad bipartisan issues that help society. This is because all entertainers do in fact enjoy easy access to media due to their popularity and therefore command the attention of a great number of the American public. Entertainers have the opportunity to use this attention to better society and promoting partisan politics is only a waste of this valuable opportunity.