IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Future plans to design prisons for learning and working

turning prison into "holiday camps"?

Future plans to design prisons for learning and working , with bigger cells containing computers that will enable study an communication , have been criticized for trying to turn prison into " holiday camps" and for " wasting taxpayers' money " . To what extent do you agree or disagree with these views??

Many people argue that future plans of redesigning existing prisons , which allow prisoners to have opportunities to learn and work , are such a waste of money and would make prison seems like a place to entertain . While this might be true to some extent , I firmly believe that this approach can bring some benefits.

For a variety of reasons , it would be wrong to invest a large amount of money in transforming prisons to be a better place while the outcome is not guaranteed. If the national budget is spent for such things , that means less money would be allocated for education of the young generations who are eager to learn . As a result , this high-risk investment may cause several damaging effects on education quality . Furthermore , who would be the one that hold responsibility in ensuring that prisons will not take advantage of these accommodation for evil purposes . For example , prisoners might together discuss a plan of prison-breaking thanks to internet-connected computers.

However , I still believe that these changes need to be made . Firstly , because the rights of learning and working is some of the most fundamental ones written in every countries' constitution , so this means every members of society should have equal opportunities of learning and working . Secondly , this changes might not only to give prisoners motivation and interest , but also help them live a relatively normal life. By this way ,after being released , prisoners may find it easier to reconnect with society , and therefore they would be less likely to reoffend.

In conclusion , I believe that the future schedules to positively change prisons should be encouraged in order to create a equal society.