Government should pay for environment protection-TOEFL

Topic:Do you agree or disagree? Governments should focus its budgets more on environmental protection than on economic development

Governments invest much money on economic development to provide more job positions, to create more profits, and to improve the citizens' life standard. Nevertheless, in the process of economic development, we ignore the importance of protect our environment, which cause some serious problems, such as air pollution, water shortage, and soil erosion. These environment problems have a bad impact on people and our society. As far as I am concerned, governments should responsible for putting funds to solve these problems.

To begin with, air pollution would trigger disease, which threatens people's health. According to a survey, the rate of lung cancer in big cities is far more than small towns. The reason why there are so many people suffer from the disease is that the dirty air they breathe. As we all know, cities have more original polluters such as private cars, factories and domestic gas. Plus, trees are less in the city area, and they play an essential role in cleaning air. This phenomenon also accelerates air pollution. More severe pollution means more patients. Therefore, in order to keep citizens' healthy, governments deserve to establish funds to protect environment.

Moreover, water shortage would decrease the crop field, which declines economy growth. Water shortage brings about arid and barren, and grains or maize cannot grow well without clean water. It is inevitable that our productivity would drop. By exporting agriculture products, our country gain profits from other countries. But this advantage would no longer work well owing to the water shortage. To guard the crop productivity, governments should pay attention to environment modification.

Finally, soil erosion would cause catastrophe, which greatly influence people's daily life. In some regions, especially the mountain areas, soil erosion give rise to mountain slide. Thousands of people will be affected due to this sort of slide. Slides not only destroy the economy development, but also ruin people's normal life. Those who experience slides may be lose their house, welfare, even precious life. Thus, governments have the duty to protect people from those disasters. Only by safeguarding environments, can we decline the times of hazards, and therefore, protects people's life.

In conclusion, governments should spend money on protecting environments, because through these measures, people would avoid some diseases; productivity would swell; people's life would be guaranteed. For these reasons, I support that governments should provide money on protect environments.

Any suggestion is useful!