IELTS TASK 2: HOUSING SHORTAGE - OPINION ESSAY

The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Lack of accommodation is one of the challenges that urban areas are faced with, which is believed to be solved by nobody other than the government. I disagree with this belief and argue that such a problem requires collective effort from not only policymakers, but also non-governmental bodies.

Compelling arguments can be made that companies and individuals are also responsible for allomeriating the pressure on housing that overpopulation inflicts on big cities. Firstly, the former can contribute by relocating offices and branches from the inner city to the outskirts. By doing so, population density will be spread as employees will migrate to live closer to their workplace. Concerning the latter, I believe that individual cooperation is instrumental in coping with almost every problem, housing shortage included. One of the things people can do is to adopt living arrangements that utilize houses or apartments, consequently optimizing the scarce living space available in compact cities. For instance, students attending the same schools or single workers being employed in the same company can share an appartment instead of seperate houses, which geometrically reduces the room needed to accommodate the same number of people.

I do admit that governments has a crucial role in addressing the housing problem. This is because only they can conduct large-scale measures that results in far-fetch changes. However, government endeavours will not be as successful as they would should they be carried out in conjunction with other members of society. To illustrate, a tactic to sooth accommodation scarcity that urban planners often employ is to build residential skyscrappers, which is intuitively plausible. However, unless people opt for sharing schemes, the rooms available can only accommodate half of the tenants they are capable of taking in.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the role of governments is irreplaceable in combating housing shortage, those ordinary people and companies are comparably significant.