IELTS_cultural traditions will be destroyed by developing tourism. right/wrong?

topic :Some people think that cultural traditions will be destroyed if they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. others, however, believe that is the only way to asve these traditions. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

How to preserve cultural traditions has become a heated topic throughout the world. Some people believe we should boost tourism, while others against it. It is my personal belief that utilizing the specialty of a country's culture to develop its tourism meanwhile helping saving the country's old traditions is a good approach. However, it is not the only method.

Some people tend to think that using cultural traditions for tourism purpose would destroy their cultural identity. The main reason might be that they are worrying about the culture assimilation from other cultures that bring by tourists. Specifically, local people will tend to change their traditions to cater the majority tourists' expectation. For example, it is common to see branches of KFC, McDonald, Starbucks in any tourist attractions around the world.

On the other side of the debate, many argue that tourism is the only way in which help to save cultural traditions. That is because the current trend of globalization that has prompted culture assimilation becoming transnational. Therefore, in order to be sustainable, countries must learn to propagate their culture to the world. Perhaps, one of the most effective ways of doing this would be to promote tourism. Taking Thailand for example, since this country embraced a tourist industry revolution, I have witnessed a phenomenal amount of Thailand restaurants in my hometown, which I never heard of just 5 years ago. Clearly, tourism does have the potential to thriving a country's traditions.

As far as I am concerned, cultural assimilation is inevitable. The only way to reduce the likelihood of being assimilated is to propagate a country's own culture instead of hiding it. In addition to developing tourism, solutions such as giving financial incentives to local film industry, organizing cultural activities in communities can also give saving cultural traditions a helping hand.