SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT CULTURAL TRADITIONS MAY BE DESTROYED WHEN THEY ARE USED AS MONEY-MAKING

using traditional culture to hook the attention of travelers

It is sometimes debated that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions that are aimed at tourists. While I agree that this phenomenon is coupled with disadvantages, I believe that it is more likely to be associated with advantages.

On the one hand, using cultural traditions to hook travelers can bring some benefits. Firstly, it is beneficial for people who rely on traditional culture for a living. For example, in Vietnam, the Dong Ho painting village is the heritage of the country; however, this traditional culture is on the verge of disappearance because dwellers cannot find enough money to make ends meet. Thus, travelers who come to this village can spend money buying paintings, which helps residents to overcome poverty. Secondly, the development of the tourism industry plays a key role in solving the unemployment problem in many countries. Specifically, this development creates many job opportunities that are linked with the tourism industry, such as tour guides and hotel staff. Thus, taking advantage of this development helps local governments to reduce the rate of joblessness.

On the other hand, using cultural traditions to attract tourists can lead to drawbacks. Inevitably, the development of the tourism industry is associated with the deterioration of young people about the awareness of traditional culture. To be more specific, travelers can bring their cultures, such as action movies and fashion trends, to tourist destinations. Thus, young people who absorb this novelty can ignore the cultural identity of their countries.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against using traditional culture to hook the attention of travelers, but I believe that this trend still has positive impacts.