IETLS task 2: Is it necessary to restict Long working hours in workplace?

People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society, so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's context, increasing number of people seems to be workaholic in nature. Though, it helps them to showcase their ability and productivity in their workplace, however, it adversely affecting them in various aspects such as in terms of health, personal relationship with family members and in socialization. In my personal view, I agree with the view that it is significant to restrict number of hours people work these days.

Beyond doubt, people don't want to sacrifices their health, family and friend at any cause, but due to the economic situation and existing competition which left people without any choice other than struggling to survive in their workplace despite the long time work pressure. As a result, people become largely reluctant to pay attention in taking healthy diet, spending time with their family and participating in social activities. For example, a person who is incredibly successful in his career, mostly fail to balance the work life and personal life which ultimately end up in conflicts and breakups with families.

Definitely, government should be made responsible in order to address this alarming issue of long working hours with which people are getting exploited in their life. In addition, imposing strict rules on number of working hours helps people to concentrate on time management, work-life balance and social awareness in a great way. In many countries, for example, Germany, as per the law, managers are not supposed to engage their subordinates in work during odd hours until there is a real critical issue to be address quickly.

In conclusion, I strongly support the view that it is increasingly necessary to regulate the number of working hours by stringent government rules in order to encourage people to have healthy nutrient diet, improved their family life relationships and being considerate to the society.