Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience (GRE topic)

Your kind comments will help a poor Korean start his study in US

Title: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience (GRE topic)

The imagination is regarded as more important than any other factors in contemporary society. A great number of companies and businessmen are trying to recruit imaginative talents in order to increase business profitability. However, in some parts, the experience is more valuable, which is especially true in the academic fields. In this field, scholars' long and deep research experiences make themselves be specialized.

Admittedly, the imagination plays a significant role as a key factor to developing creative techniques and imaginative products. In this fast-paced world, innovative and fresh ideas become more influential in creating a new profitable business model. This is why new and creative products are able to excite consumers to purchase them. According to the US STEM education report 2012, technicians who work in the STEM fields, receive two times higher salaries than workers in non-STEM fields. As it is widely known that the curriculum for STEM education highly focused on developing students' imagination, workers who have high-technologies based on creativity are valued in the industry after graduating from STEM schools. Therefore, learning imagination is the key to being successful in contemporary society.

However, in some instances, the experience is more valuable. To be specific, in the academic fields, experience is the most worthy assets to achieving success. In order to reach success in academic fields, analyzing related data for years and having insight based on sufficient research experiences are essentially required. This is because there are so many existing point of views and research results about a topic that they should have farsighted perspectives through long period of research experiences. For example, the Nobel Prize Committee is likely to award a Nobel Prize in Economics to economists who have experienced long-term research studies. Although young scholars are more challenging and innovative, the committee lays emphasis on estimating old scholars' deep and wide insight. Therefore, in this case, it seems that the experience is a more worthy factor.

All in all, both imagination and experience are essential in each areas. The imagination is helpful in creating a new and innovative products in the industry, while the experience is necessary to being successful in academic fields.