[Writing Ielts Task 2] The most important function of music is that it helps people reduce stress.

the impact of music

Music plays an indispensable part in many aspects of people's lives. While many point out that helping people relieve stress is the most crucial role of music, I disagree with this idea because I believe that music has other equally important functions including driving people's productivity and support musicians to convey their emotions or messages.

On the one hand, I believe that one of music's undeniably outstanding missions is being a measure for people's pressures and mental strains. Firstly, from a scientific perspective, healing music with slow rhythms can curb the production of cortisol - the stress hormone, and enhance the dopamine generation cycle - the hormone stimulating our brains to receive positive emotions. In reality, in the past few years, the emerge of million-stream "healing" or "chilling" playlists with a wide range of Jazz songs, piano cover audios, or classical tracks on streaming platforms like Youtube, Spotify, and Souncloud has become a prominent trend. The huge number of streams as well as the increasingly monthly listeners quantity ascertain the role of music as a tool of relaxing. Moreover, to musicians, singers or other individuals working in the music industry, music may be like a magical remedy for stresses, or even mental illnesses. Many renowned artists like Billie Janet Jackson, Halsey, Eilish, etc. publicly disclosed how they struggled wth mental health issues and how music became a supplement type in their treatment process of emotional breakdowns.

However, music can bring other irrefutable benefits to mankind: to boost working or studying productivity and to unveil implicit feelings and messages. First, when listening to music, people can enhance their deep concentration level and cognitive capacity - two fundamental factors for individuals working in fields requiring the utter vigilance and logical thingking such as programmers, software engineers or scientific researchers. Another key benefit of music is its ability to dedicately express songwriters' thoughts, emotions, and messages, which other tools' such as stories, poems, or speeches may not be as effective as. Thanks to lyrics, beats and melodies, a sad love stragedy, a desire to seize the freedom or a pride in hometown landscapes can be described vividly. Therefore, musicians can find sympathy from their audience, bring positive energy into life or awake listeners' hidden compassions and passions. Michael Jackson - a king of pop sucessfully provoked people's sense of responsibilty for our Earth through classical songs like 'Heal the world', 'We are the world', 'Earth song', etc.

In conclusion, I disagree with the view that the most significant role of music is supporting people in relieving stress, because I believe that productive capacity intensifying and affections communicating are music's other equally important functions.