Imposing heavier punishments on dangerous drivers is the solely way to secure traffic

The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses.

Do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that imposing heavier punishments on dangerous drivers is the solely way to secure traffic calming more effectively. From my personal perspective, this solution associated with other measures should be adopted together to promote better driving habits.

On the one hand, strict punishments can absolutely prevent road users from driving recklessly. Some of these penalties towards traffic violators can be driving ban, license suspension or even more seriously, imprisonment. The purpose of those punishments mainly is to show reckless drivers that their actions are highly causing fatal consequences on the lives of the others. Besides, better law enforcement also helps to ensure the zero chance that those drivers will repeat their mistakes the second time.

On the other hand, I believe that safe driving can be encouraged in several different ways that would be soft on drivers and without punishing them. One of the ways is frequently give random breath tests in order to early spot drunk drivers. Moreover, speeding cameras should be installed to deter people from driving too fast. Finally, authorities and local councils can reduce road crashes by organizing more educational programs, especially for juveniles and young drivers, to attract more public participation, which helps them become more alert when it comes to traffic rules and regulations.

In conclusion, although it seems to be effective to implement such harsh punishments on driving offenses , I agree that there are additionally substitute methods to mitigate the rates of accidents.