An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment.

consumerism and the environment

There is no denying that our environment has been destroyed by the manufacturing of consumer goods. The essay will point out some rationales behind the worrying issues, and subsequently, will put several measures to arrest the ecological crisis.

Two major reasons for the damage to the natural environment by the growing production of consumer goods can be easily identified. Firstly, people make use of raw materials in nature such as: minerals, wood, oil, coal and so on which leads to the rapid exhaustion of the earth's natural resources. Secondly, consumption of goods creates mountains of toxic waste and emission. For example, during the manufacturing process, factories discharge a huge amount of exhaust fume and harmful waste which affects people's air and clean water.

Measures must be taken to reduce environmental damage. Firstly, a number of companies should ensure that they use eco-friendlier materials. For example, brand milk with the name " Milo" changed all their plastic straws to paper straws which will protect our environment. Secondly, the government should encourage people to use recycling products. If more goods can be recycled, then there will be less depletion of natural resources.

In conclusion, the cause of environmental damage stemming from consumption are obvious and reducing consumption and more recycling are part of the solution.