Increasing the cost of fuels is the best way to solve the world's environmental problems

3)Some people think that increasing the cost of fuels is the best way to solve the world's environmental problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One school of thought holds that raising fuel costs is the optimal solution to mitigate environmental problems. In my opinion, however, this will take a toll on the world's economy.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that by increasing fuels prices, the impact of environmental problems will be effectively tackled. The majority of consumers these days, they say, especially workers who have commuting involved, heavily rely on fuels. Higher prices would discourage them from using a large amount of this energy and they will seek other alternative measures to reduce the emission of carbon dioxide, one of the chief contributors to environmental problems, such as utilizing public transportation. However, this thinking fails to mention that not all areas are possible for public transportation, and residents in remote areas, and rural areas would encounter various problems like inadequate infrastructure, financial resources, and geographical factors. As a result, this likely imposes a burden on users, particularly low-income individuals. This is why stable costs are still instrumental in forming a sustainable and stable market for the workforce.

On the other hand, the argument in favor of balanced prices is further fortified by the fact that fuels are the lifeblood of the economy. It is embedded in economic activity and filtered through various services in which just a change of prices would leave serious repercussions. This can be seen in various companies likely facing inflationary pressure, due to the war between Russia and Ukraine, because the freight costs have risen resulting from higher fuel costs leading to the increase in the cost of shipment. Therefore, the prices of goods are increased by many businessmen to compensate for their payment. This might result in a decline in market share and competition challenges in both national and international trade. This example is a testament to the importance of fuel prices in the global economy.

In conclusion, for the reasons elaborated above, I strongly believe that ensuring stable fuel prices is a crucial part to industries on a wide scale, contributing to the general prosperity.