IELTS Task 2: An increasing number or professional leaving their own poorer countries

Prompt: An increasing number of professional, such as teachers and doctors are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What are the reasons for this trend? What effect does it have on the countries professionals are leaving?

In recent years, the rate of new generation emigrate to work in richer countries has increased. There is a certain factor that causes this circumstance and it results in dramatic detriment for the departed countries.

The major reasons the professionals have a tendency to seek employment in more developed countries are a higher standard of living and opportunities for professionals growth. For instance, the average monthly salary for a white-collar worker, such as teacher, in so-called first world nations is surpassing a developing country. In addition, employees in developed countries can balance their working life and personal time effectively because of a well-organised workflow system and a well-prepared facility. An outdated amenity and equipment in poor states hinders the ability of professionals, such as doctor, to practice and improve their skills.

The increasing amounts of employees who seek their job in first world nations definitely has an invariably negative consequences towards the developing nations. In Thailand, emigrating to better job opportunities in another countries was a trend around 2019-2021. Subsequently, the brain drain situation spreads throughout years, not only in Thailand but also most of third world countries encounter this issue. The nations lose the talents from new generation and opportunities to continue developing.

In conclusion, a higher living quality coupled with the opportunity to advance one's career are the main reason why professionals migrate to richer countries. The countries they leave behind struggle to find suitably qualified replacements and thus suffer from social and economic stagnations.