Many individuals warn that the vanishing of various species is a major hurdle for humans

Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Unarguably, environmental deterioration is happening at a startling pace. Many individuals warn that the vanishing of various species is a major hurdle for humans, however, it is argued by others that mankind is facing more pressing issues. This essay is to elaborate on both viewpoints and express my own perspective.

To begin with, there is no denying that human's activities are taking their toll on different species in nature. Worldwide, myriads of animals are losing their habitats due to overexploitation or under severe threat caused by hunting, thus being pushed to the brink of extinction. A telling example is the elephants, who used to abound on the Earth, are now at serious stake as hunters continuously massacred them for their ivory. On top of that, the scarcity of plants is well-documented, since deforestation illegal logging and forest fire continue to pose a threat to forests and jungles that accommodate not only animals but millions of types of trees. The results of this depletion are manifold, including the loss of ecological biodiversity as well as important species that contribute to science and medicine.

Nevertheless, apart from this extinction issue, other environmental problems are all on the rise. First of all, major factors jeopardising humankind are global warming and ocean acidification, which are resulted from greenhouse gas emissions from industries. Not to mention, pollution is accelerating in cities, constituting a huge health hazard. To lesser or larger extent, these environmental dangers have detracted from people's quality of life and render government around the world anxious. Furthermore, it is apparent that natural calamities such as tsunamis, tornadoes or hurricanes, which will deal s lethal blow to areas or countries as occurring, are even worth worrying more about.

In conclusion, I believe that apart from the degradation of the Earth's flora and fauna, there multiple grave problems related to the environment that need dealing with. Therefore, it is high time natural conservation and environmental protection were prioritized.