IELTS Writing task 2 about influence of colour on our purchasing decisions

Colour is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell us something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour.

How true is this statement? How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

Many manufacturers and retail companies nowadays use colour as an elemental factor to attract consumers. Actually, a great deal of our purchasing decisions that we make are based on colour. Therefore, I firmly believe that it does have a great influence on our choices.

To start with, colour is possibly one of the main reasons to attract purchasers when they buy goods. According to a survey about its psychology, 93% of the number of buyers who buy a particular product look at its visual appearance. This can be explained by the meaning which is contained by each colour. For example, green always evokes fresh, nutritious vegetables as it connotes eco-friendliness and healthy. Another is brown which is used often in food packaging on account of its earthy, natural look.

From my point of view, both colour and quality of the product equally have huge impact on consumers. Firstly, it is a simple way to specialise brands across all communications with customers. Hence, using colours smartly in packaging not only can visually set companies apart from competitors but it also makes shoppers pay more attention. Another factor to consider is quality since colours do not always denote the product content as well as its effect. An illustration of this is a quote: "We can not judge a book by its cover".

To sum up, it is inevitable to say that colour is an essential element to be considered when we go shopping. As a result of a strong connection between colour and purchasing decisions thay we make, manufacturers should make use of this to sell their products.