Information technology overhauled people's life - wasting time and damaging people's health

Question:

Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Answer:

Information technology plays an equally important role for well-being. As such, it has overhauled our way of life in home, free and job activities' concept. While some believe that it brings some benefits such as instant access and enhancing work productivity, I argue that this causes more drawbacks like time-consuming and unhealthy lifestyle.

As a matter of fact, the advanced technology has boosted speed of the internet access. Today, the majority of people have so quick access to social and entertainment connections especially in networking site. A 2013 Tokyo University research recently reveals that Japan's speed in the internet's browsing at 16.34 Mb/s which is the second fastest access of the internet. As a consequence, people are more likely to use this internet for achieve some information easily. Therefore, the number of users will increased whilst the information technology advances day after day. Not only this, sophisticated devices of the technology have moved forward the quality of work thanks to a wide range of data which is saved in computer.

Despite these advantages, there are more counter-arguments for drawbacks for modern information technologies. Initially, the information technology has wasted users' time. While worker should read a lot of emails in their mailbox, children are liable to chat with their beloved friends for hours by using dialog online. What is more, unhealthy lifestyle cannot be avoided. The modern technology forced people to make sedentary activities. Clearly, even though every person works on screen, they will sit on the chair for long term which affect to their back healthy.

To conclude, the technology of information today is extremely essential for human being. On account of this, the human life has changed duo to advanced technology. Although many argue that it will increase the internet access and work capability, I totally believe that this is only wasting time and damaging people's health.