IELTS; Internet is making the world smaller by bringing people together

Some people say that the Internet is making the world smaller by bringing people together. To what extent do you agree that the internet is making it easier for people to communicate with one another?

Internet has touched almost every aspects of our life. One of its profound impacts has been in the field of communication technologies. Aided with the new platforms, one can have an instantaneous communication with other people, regardless of the geographic separation between two.

Gone are the days of letter writing that used to take a month for conveying the message. New Internet based application- Emails, Skype, Viber- has enabled use to communicate in real time. Today, one can make or receive from any parts of the world at zero cost using Skype. With application such as Vibe one can receive and deliver a text message at a click of button and at no cost. Likewise, a social media platform - Facebook, MySpace and Orkut- has provided a platform to share information. One can make friend using these platform to people around the globe learn about the culture.

Internet technology has also impacted the operation of business. No longer does a meeting require travel. Tele-conferencing and video conferencing are used to avoid costly and time-consuming travels. In similar way, the organization such News broadcasting network can leverage the Internet technologies to broadcast the information in real time. A reporter aided with them Internet enabled camera can transmit a news report or any events to the News Room instantaneously. Further, Internet has made the active participation of general public possible. One can express their disappointment or disagreement about a topic in news using social application such as Twitter or Blogs.

In conclusion, Internet technology has really made a world small place to live in. Geographic boundaries, race, religion are no longer a barrier for communication.