The internet should be more tightly controlled by governments. Do you agree or disagree?

Undeniably, since its introduction, not only has the internet gained importance in our life but it has also had harmful effects on the society. However, governments have little influence on what's going on the Internet, except a few countries. From my point of view, the internet should be more tightly controlled by governments because of three reasons.

In the first place, there is no doubt that your personal information can be stolen by unauthorized individuals. In fact, the use of Internet for banking, social networking, or other services, often makes our personal information vulnerable to thieves. Savvy hackers can access such sensitive information through unsecured connections by planting phishing software. Moreover, there is no way to secure names, account numbers, addresses, photos, and credit card numbers from being stolen or misused by thieving websites and individuals. Therefore, governments must find out the way to prevent the thieves from attacking our privacy.

What's more, there is no guarantee of the accuracy of information available on the internet. It is believed that a wide range of information about a particular topic is stored on the websites, but some information may be incorrect or not authentic. Hence, it becomes difficult and wastes time to select the correct information and sometimes makes you confused. This is the reason why governments should attempt to censor or filter the internet.

Finally, it goes without saying that young people can easily be influenced by inappropriate content on some websites such as pornography sites. Children can connect to these websites and can see the information which is not good. Additionally, the lack of control over the distribution and unrestricted access of pornographic material is detrimental to children. This phenomenon is a big threat related to children's healthy mental life. Thus, governments should bring laws to control the content of websites.

In conclusion, i personally believe that government should take action to protect internet users from disadvantages of this network. The full control would never happen, but a limited control is vital for users.