IELTS Task 2 : IS THE INTERVIEW TEST THE BEST WAY OF SELECTING EMPLOYEES?

Most employers interview candidates before hiring them. Do you think this is the best way to do it? In your opinion, what is the best method for choosing employees?

The majority of the company carry out the interview test before engaging the applicant into their company. While some parties concede this sort of test is the best method to gather information deeply regarding applicant's personality, I would argue that candidate's proficiency is quite arduous to be encompassed through this test, thus, the aptitude test is likely the best way to determine applicants who match the criteria of companies.

The predominant aim of a job interview is to offers the employer valuable insight into applicant's personality. It is pivotal for a company to comprehend the personality like responsible and trustworthy of the applicants. For instance, the Indomaret Corporation, the biggest supermarket in Indonesia, conducts the interviews to applicants based on the importance of knowing the applicant's detail information. However, this kind of test does not cover the real skill that basically candidates have.

In my point of view, the aptitude test is the most appropriate method to recruit employee that accordance with the criteria of companies' expectation. This is because the applicants are directly examined on the spot with the intent to prove the real skills that the candidates really have. Thus, there is no doubt of companies for hiring the suppliant that pass through this test. To illustrate, the garment companies are not necessary conducting interview test for hiring a new tailor. Instead, they just conduct a proficiency test to ensure the capacity of the candidates.

To sum up, despite the fact that through the interview test, the employers can possibly reveal candidate's personality which is important to be known, but it does not mean that it cover the applicant's skill that is pivotal to be considered. Thus, I personally argue that aptitude test is the best method for choosing employees.