Today's issue is drug users (Writing Task II)

Should drug addicts be jailed or rehabilitated? Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Today's issue is drug users. As seen, more people live with consuming drugs. For some people, they argue that government should take this issue into account by sending the drug users into the jail, but nevertheless it is not always true. Other people claim that treatment and rehabilitation is the best form to prevent societies from being addicted. While the former offers an alternative solution, I strongly believe that rehabilitation also has a huge positive effect in this problem.

Most people believe that addicts should be sent to jail. With concern to prevent society from illegal activities, drug users are claimed as a criminal and anybody who is criminal should be arrested. According to Indonesian Law chapter 35/2009 on narcotics and addictive drugs, Indonesian Department handling drugs (BNN) has obligation to arrest societies who are positive as a drug consumers and dealers. However, I believe this notion likely do not bring a significant impact since they have a chance to comeback again in that way when released.

With concern to categorize addicts also as a victim, not only just a criminal, Government should provide treatment and rehabilitation for them because most of drug users are teenager who does not know well about the drugs. A 2012 Leeds University study found that the best strategy to prevent society from this issue is prioritization in the health with taking treatment and rehabilitation as the main plan. I argue this method is more suitable because this not only declines the number of drug users but also cures completely addicts.

In conclusion, although the choice of sending addicts into the jail can help government to fight with drugs, authority should make them aware about the drawback of such drugs by conducting treatment and rehabilitation.