Issue: whether the university should accept the balanced amount of each gender in all courses or not

Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

TASK 2

One of the most noticeable issues is whether the university should accept the balanced amount of each gender in all courses or not. In my opinion, I do not agree to equal the proportion of men and women in this situation.

The first major reason is that having the same number of males and females in all courses is simply unrealistic. The institution receives the number of students based on the applications. If universities want to achieve this goal, they have to receive enough applicants of each gender. Based on reality, there are some courses that are only popular with male or female students. For example, nursing tends to attract women so it is difficult to enroll the same amount of male and females students. We cannot reject a female student in favour of a male student with lower grades or lower qualifications.

I believe that every university wishes to select the best candidates according to qualifications. Therefore, each gender thinks that they will have the same opportunities to pursue their dream jobs. This is their motivation to work harder in order to gain success. On the other hand, if the number of both sexes is balanced, students will have more chance to have closer contact with people in another gender. In the future, this could become a chance to reduce the matrimonial problems.

In conclusion, the same percentage of men and women in the course at university should be based on merit. Furthermore, changing the admission enroll based on grades to gender is unfair and impractical.