The issue: useful or passionate subjects for study?

Can you give me some feedback? How much is its rate you think?

Can you see any improvements from my first essay?

passion for learning and a free choice

My essay is about:

"Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.''

People hold different views about what type of subject should be educated at the university. While some argue that it would be better for students to be forced into subjects which will prepare them well for future, I believe that everybody should be able to study the course of his choice and this is also beneficial.

On one hand, learning useful subjects helps students become qualified employees. The advocates of this explain that these subjects provide students with the essential knowledge which is the basic foundation of their future career. For example, a banker has to learn about currency, finance, taxation and so on since he was an undergraduate student. He will not manage his work well if he lacks this knowledge. They also demonstrate a number of companies these days have asked the candidates to have at least one computer science certificate which show their expert level in using the office software. As a result, the student equipped with these technology skills will be more competitive in the job market.

On the other hand, pursuing passionate areas of study is the right of the student and can benefit them in unpredictable ways. Supporters of this argue that forcing students to learn what they do not want and preventing them from their interested subjects is trespassing the human right of liberty. In my opinion, learning with no interest is boring, stressful and a waste of time regardless of how useful that subject can be. Moreover, no one can assure whether one subject is useful or not. For instance, a medical learner will appreciate the time he spends on studying economics, marketing, business and so on as it has practically supported him on setting up his own medical company. Youngsters have become more and more active, desire to explore new challenges, acquire new skills which will turn them into multitasking individuals. This advantage may impress the headhunters or be useful for them to start their own business.

In conclusion, it seems to me that however useful a subject can be, passion for learning is the most important and student should be free to choose their preferred areas of study.