Juvenile delinquency has become the pivotal problem which must be overcome as soon as possible.

In many countries, schools have severe problems with student behavior. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Over time, the juvenile delinquency has become the pivotal problem which must be overcome as soon as possible. I believe that the parents should be responsible to educate their children in early age. Applying a sense of discipline in the school and home is one of the best solutions to build the good character on the students.

The role of parents is pivotal to build the character of the students. They should get the attention and moral education from their parents in early age. For instance, the majority of students who come from the nuclear family have bad behavior, due to the reason that their parents do not give moral education to them. According to the data from Indonesia Survey Institute (ISI) 2015 showed that 93% the children who always get involved in the juvenile delinquency do not get the enough attention from their parents. However, it is important to note that the children who get the excessive attention from their parents will make them to be spoiled person. They will depend on their parents so they cannot be the independent person. Therefore, to build the good character on the children is needed the role of parents.

Applying a sense of discipline on the children in early age is one of the best solutions to overcome this problem. The children must be accustomed with the rules and the punishment. However, the punishment which is given must educate them. According to the data from one of research published in Psychology Journal of Tubingen University in 2014 showed that introducing a sense of discipline on the children in early age will build a sense of responsibility on the children. The data prove that the applying a sense of discipline can resolve this problem.

All in all, there is no doubt that the role of parents is pivotal to build the character of the students. I believe that there are plenty of ways to overcome this problem; one of them is applying a sense of discipline.