What can we learn from sports?

A sport is an organized, competitive, entertaining, and skillful physical activity requiring commitment and fair play, in which a winner can be defined by objective means. We learn about teamwork, sportsmanship, mutual trust among teamates and work ethic.

Firstly, teamwork requires co-operative effort on the part of a group of people acting together as a team to work towards a common goal, and that is emerging as the champion. For a team to have teamwork, it is not an easy task. Obstacles such as conflicts among teammates or unequal commitment to team might affect the team's overall performance. Teams need to be collectively committed to performance. Sometimes there will be individuals who are actively committed while there may be others who are passively committed. If it were to be a real competition, those who are passively committed might not have a high level of competitiveness especially when the team's score is lagging behind the opponent by a lot. Under such situation, those who are actively committed will be squeezing out their brain juices trying to come up with a strategy while those who are only passively committed might be giving up already.

Secondly, sportsmanship is something we can learn from sports too. Sportsmanship is an attitude that strives for fair play, courtesy toward teammates and opponents, ethical behaviour and integrity, and grace in victory or defeat. Sportsmanship expresses an aspiration or ethos that the activity will be enjoyed for its own sake. The well-known sentiment by sports journalist Grantland Rice, that it's "not that you won or lost but how you played the game," and the Modern Olympic creed expressed by its founder Pierre de Coubertin: "The most important thing is not winning but taking part" are typical expressions of this sentiment.

Thirdly, mutual trust between teammate is also something we can learn from sports. Complete trust and concern for one or more people truly takes a large effort, but if both parties are willing, it can create a relationship that will last a long while, especially in games. Therefore it is very important to have mutual trust in a team because, a team must be united and not suspicious of one another. If one were to play alone, then why is it called a team?

Lastly, work ethic is something we can learn from sports too. Work ethic is defined as a belief in the moral benefit of work and its ability to enhance character. A work ethic also has initiatives. This characteristic is an important factor for a team's overall performance. Without initiative, the team cannot improve on their current performance unless they tell the coach where their problem is, thus allowing the coach to improve on their skills so as to reduce chances of mistakes. With lesser mistakes being made, the team is one step closer to championship.

Hence, we can learn teamwork, sportsmanship, mutual trust and work ethic from sports. With these values inculcated in us, we will become a better person in team-playing games in the future.

(This is an essay which i have written recently, however, i feel that i've wrote it out of point, i'm looking forward to anyone's valuable opinion!)