Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. IELTSTask2

Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at a risk of dying out.

In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English?

Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how?

Nowadays, English is being taught as a first language in many schools in favour of the regional languages. Some fear that if these are not given equal representation in the curriculum, they might be forgotten entirely. I am of the opinion that an attempt to protect regional languages should be made in these communities.

First off, I feel that any indigenous language in a particular region must be included in the coursework of every grade. In addition to that schools must conduct daily readings of the news in the morning assembly by the students in that language. This can be extended to yearly events that promote the literature or cultural background that comes with these local languages. The same can be done by non-academic institutions as well. This should inspire interest among students in finding out more about their community.

Moreover, there are many endangered languages currently in the world, and a large number of ancient languages that we can barely decipher anymore. For example, the Persian language of one of the largest ancient empires is completely forgotten today. That said, we have also lost the ability to translate their texts accurately. Which leads to gaps in our knowledge of their society. Ideas and concepts that we could instead learn from are now shrouded in obscurity.

Finally, English is certainly an important language to learn simply due to its global influence on science, commerce and academia. By no means does that indicate that we must allow a local language to fizzle out of existence especially when we can prevent it.