Learning history in school

Some people think learning history in school is important. Others think that learning subjects relevant to life is important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Studying history in school is thought to be critical, while the opponents suppose that other practical subjects are more essential. From my point of view, I have the same justification with the first statement. The following essay will elaborate on both views and the reasons for my opinion.

On one hand, it can be seen that there are a fair number of students who reject studying history due to its impractical value and they hardly find any relevance between the subject and their life. Those students are in favor of subjects that benefit their job prospects such as English or Maths, which means history simply does not allow students to deploy their talents in their dream job. Besides, history is abundant, there are thousands of special dates, events and people, so it is understandable that many people find it challenging to remember, so they would rather choose to allocate their time to remembering Maths format or chemical substances.

On the other hand, history is believed to be a necessary subject because it aids us in exploring the roots of the problems. For example, Vietnamese students can have a deep insight into why China has always wanted to possess the island of Hoang Sa and Truong Sa as well as the 1000-year invasion of this country in Vietnam. Moreover, learning history teaches students gratitude as they might understand the value of peace, what the previous generation had to sacrifice and the terrible consequences of wars. In this way, students are told to be thankful towards the military or their ancestors and they are also taught to avoid conflicts between nations under any forms. As an English major student, I also think that history is a key factor to deeply comprehend a country's culture, which is quite indispensable to a language learner.

In conclusion, there are students who think other subjects that are relevant to life are more important in view of the job benefit they may get and history barely brings no practical value because, while others are on the opposite side. I suppose history must also be a necessary subject, the value it brings is hard to see but it does not mean learning history is totally useless.