Living away from family home while attending university - Advantages and Disadvantages - Task 2

In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city. Do you think the advantages of living away from family home while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often of great discussion whether students should stay with their family while pursuing higher education or move to another city to live independently. In my opinion, living away from home during university brings more disadvantages than advantages.

On one hand, many students are in favor of living away from home while attending university due to the fact that they can live on their own, spend their days freely, and not be under their parents' control. By living that lifestyle, they can grow and become more independent individuals. Students living alone are forced to acquire essential life skills, including cooking, cleaning, and taking care of themselves. Moreover, they have the perfect opportunity to learn about money and time management, which is hard to learn when they are back home with their families, as they are often supported financially by their parents.

However, living alone at this age can have many negative impacts on university students. Without parental supervision, they may neglect their studies, focusing on newer and more interesting things university life may bring, namely partying, gaming, and excessive drinking. Lacking mental maturity, it may be challenging for students to make decisions wisely and balance many aspects of their academic and social lives, resulting in a lower quality of living.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of living alone while studying at a university outweigh its advantages. It is dependent on students' ability to prioritize and lead a balanced life that one should decide to live alone or with their parents while attending university.