TOEFL Essay: machine made goods are cheaper and more durable than handmade ones

Hi All,

Request you to please check my essay. (Especially Grammar and sentence structure) any new ideas and suggestions appreciated.

Some items (such as clothes or furniture) can be made by hand or by machine. Which do you prefer - items made by hand or items made by machine? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your choice.

Today, we can see technology has developed a lot. Most of works can be done by machines. However, the significance of handmade products is hard to ignore. In fact, each handmade item has an artistic worth behind, which should be considered. In early days, when there were no machines people used to do most of their work by hand but now individuals have diverse options. They can use items made by machines and I believe that, if such developed machines are available to do the same work then why should we waste time and energy for creating that products by hand.

I would like to use items made by machines because I believe that, machine made goods are cheaper than handmade ones. For example, this weekend we visited Amish Community. Farming and making wood furniture are their source of income. They did not use any technology or any machines for this. All work can be done by hand like, in the process of making furniture, they have to cut the wood, shape it, fix it and then polish it. On the other hand, using machines for conducting this process could reduce the required work force and production rate could also increase. As workforce increases, price of the product also increases and therefore price of handmade items are costly than machine made goods. We can also see many other things like cloths with handmade embroidery work, Home decors, Paintings and the like which are more costly than machine made ones.

In addition, handmade goods are beautiful but not as much durable as machine made items. In my own experience, we used dining mats which had a handmade embroidery work on it. We hardly used it for one and half month and after second wash, all work made by hand on that mats was gone. Now, we bought mats with machine made work on it and we are using that from last three months. We washed it for three to four times but still it looks like new. So, I do not think that handmade goods are more durable than machine made.

Finally, I believe that machine made items have a long life than items handmade ones. These are cheaper, affordable and durable plus it saves time and energy. So, I would prefer to choose items made by machines.

@ Vickey: There is no question of being an angry. I am really happy that you read my essay and suggested something. I would like to debate on anything which will enhance by TOEFL score..:)

Now, come to the point.. Yes, I do agree with you, I cannot say that machine made items are stronger than handmade. Actually, in my first essay, I wanted to explain about durability and in my second essay, I tried to clear my ideas with examples. Hope after reading this essay, you might have got my ideas behind my opinion.

Good Luck!

any suggestions and corrections appreciated:)

Thank you dear all for your reviews.

Ana.