Ielts writing task 2: Should media focus on lives of famous people.

Too Much Celebrity News

Topic: Nowadays, the media mostly focus on lives of famous people to be reported on the news. Some people think that it is nescessary because they are popular, while others believe media should pay more attention to ordinary people. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, how celebrities live has been drawing a great deal of attention from the public. Some people believe that lives of famous people are essential to be reported on social media, while others state that more attention should be given to ordinary people. I completely agree with the latter view because of the following reasons.

The first reason is that, in our cutting-edge society, lives of celebrities are being more and more deeply violated. This is because, all of daily activities of these people, like their dressing, their speech, and also their love, are published for society. Not only celebrities, but also their family, their friends be attracted by the reporters and the public. Furthermore, the development of a large number of modern social networks, news about famous people is quickly spread and received different comment, even strong criticism from netizens. As a result, celebrities would feel loss of freedom, under pressure and depressed, that lead to serious diseases, especially depression. A striking example for this is a Korean singer suicide in 27 years old last year.

Another reason is that, more news about ordinary people should be reported. It means that reporters should pay more attention to special people in the society. As an illustration, reporting about the disadvantaged, the disabled to ask for help from the public, or reporting about people who have kind action worth-praising.

In conclusion, although there are many opposite views, I strongly support the opinion that the media should spend more attention for ordinary people instead of scrutinise the private lifes of celebrities.