Media and Information Accuracy - TOEFL

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

the quality of media content is deteriorating

Nowadays, there are a diverse range of media such as TV, newspaper, Internet, to name but a few, which people could get access to a great deal of information from. Although some people may consider the media are less concerned about the accuracy of news compared to the past, I maintain that the media always take the accuracy of news into account and not being tolerate to any fake information.

First of all, the media would get into trouble if they don't report the truth to their audience, hence, the media definitely put emphasis on the accuracy of news. For example, my friend, Lisa, who is a journalist. She once told me that two years ago, when she tried to attract more readers of her newspaper, she wrote her article in an exaggerated way and made up some stories to make her content look more appealing. Unfortunately, someone disclosed Lisa's immoral behavior, and also reported the company where Lisa worked in. Consequently, the company was severely fined about 100,000,000 NT dollars and Lisa didn't get paid from the company in that period. Since then, the company has really taken the accuracy of every news into account. After all, the company couldn't stand for another huge punishment again.

Secondly, the media care about reputation, and only being concerned about the accuracy of the news can help the media earn a lot of credit from their audience.

For instance, CNN news, a renown news TV program that people usually spend lots of time watching it. The main reason that people continually watching CNN news is because the program always reports the truth to audience. To be more specific, there is a supervisor system in CNN news to make sure that the TV program reports correct detail of all news, and to ensure that the content is clear not ambiguous. Eventually, through a thorough and comprehensive supervisor system, CNN program always and only produces correct information to people, therefore, it creates a lot of loyal audience and win a lot of applause from them.

In conclusion, the media press certainly put endeavor to make sure they release the accuracy information to their audience. After all, they don't want to get into trouble and also they care about their reputation.