IELTS Writing Task 2: Media's negative influence on society's tolerance for new ideas?

Some people claim that the media has a negative influence on contemporary society. They think that there is very little tolerance for the new ideas because of its impact. To what extent did you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a common belief that our current society is being affected unsympathetically by the media due to the unwillingness to accept new ideas. However, in my point of view, it has also good and bad points. On the one hand, it encourages people to think creatively while sometimes it propagates people's worst thoughts.

To start off, harmful thinking can be circulated to numerous people throughout a huge place by a person or a group of spreaders in a short amount of time. Because of its logical shreds of evidence and trustful sources, people who do not know will have a strong belief that it is true, leading to terrible consequences for our community. Take the example of fake news, which is usually based on the real one, is frequently made up against several organizations or the president and public institutions or makes us misunderstand to get our beliefs and support. Moreover, its purpose is to increase stress and stimulate acts of violence among people all over the country, raising people's doubts about the government.

On the other hand, surfing the internet, especially social platforms like YouTube and Facebook can help people develop critical thinking with more and more creative and unique inventions. To be honest, there are a plethora of open-source projects for those learning their wanted things. Moreover, several influential people share their experiences and opinions about specified issues, attracting the attention many of learners. For example, Wikipedia is a free encyclopedia that serves a multitude of purposes. It can be used for sharing information, as well as for studying, and it caters to the needs of everyone. Social media has also made it easier for people to acquire knowledge from the comfort of their own homes.

To conclude, it is obvious that media are playing an extremely vital role in our lives nowadays as it stimulates people to learn more and raise their creativity; on the contrary, it also has some drawbacks that involve dirty media.