Why have men's sports been give far more attention by society than women's s? IELTS Writting Task 2

Question:

Historically, men's sports have been given far more attention by society compared to women's sports.

Throughout history, male sporting endeavors have drawn more attention compared to their female counterparts. Why this is, will be unpacked and my underpinning stated.

There are diverse causes of this phenomenon. The most critical aspect is the male fascination with physical activities. Men show great strength and stamina to play sports, which makes them perform more energetically. Most women, however, do not frequently give enough enthusiasm when participating in a match. They regularly go shopping and have several private pastimes instead. Another supporting factor is the long-standing establishment of male sports. Numerous sports associations were founded by males. The person inventing Football Associations, for instance, is a man called Ebenezer Morley. Furthermore, the popularity of men's sports leads to an increase in profits for organizers. The majority of viewers of sportscasts are men, and they predominantly focus on men's sports tournaments. Football, for example, which is the most popular sport, is famous for men's competitions.

From my perspective, it is an adverse development that the effect of men's sport on the public outweighs the influence of women's on society. Gender inequality in sports causes females not to receive worthy advantages, though hard they try. The chart of annual salaries of U.S. male and female national soccer teams is a specific case: men's soccer teams, whether they are defeated or win, can get bonuses that are higher than the remuneration of female teams. Moreover, sports programs about them are mostly posted after male ones.

In conclusion, there are three main reasons that the public has paid more attention to men's sports, namely: historical male sporting formation, biological health and interests of men in sports, and last but not least, potential profits from male sporting endeavors. In my opinion, it is a negative issue that should be considered.