Some minority languages have a risk of disappearing, it's governments responsibility to protect them

Topic:

Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

My essay:

It is true that some minority languages have a risk of disappearing. People have divergent views about whether governments should spend money on preserving these languages. Personally, I believe that governments have responsibilities to saving languages that are spoken by a number of people.

On the one hand, some people think that governments should not waste money on preserving some minority languages. First, expensive education programs will be needed to introduce many facilities, teachers, and marketing, etc. these will cost a large sum of money. Therefore, some people think governments should spend money on other public facilities. Second, it will indeed be more convenient for people to use single language in their country. And also governments can govern countries efficiently.

On the other hand, I am contented that minority languages cannot be destroyed. First, a language is much more than simply a means of communication. It has a vital connection with the cultural identity of people who spoke it. Therefore, if languages disappear than a whole way of life will disappear with it. Second, languages contain rich cultural diversity including traditions, customs, and behaviors that are part of a country`s history. By spending money on saving these languages, a variety of cultures will preserve simultaneously. Third, men are created equal. Everyone has their rights for using their own languages even if their languages are in danger of extinction.

In conclusion, it seems to me that governments should protect languages from disappearing. So it is reasonable to spend public money on preserving them.