Modern life style is completely different from the way people lived in the past

modern lifestyle today - better or not?

It is true that there is a total change about the way in which today's people live compared to the previous generation due to the huge development in technology and economy. While some people take this as a big advantage, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon is a negative outcome, and this essay will elaborate why.

On the one hand, the present-day mode of life is beneficial in some ways. The first reason for this, we are moving towards the technological era which is destined to make human lives even more uncomplicated, pleasurable and comfy. For instance, only with pressing one button, people can have their dishes heated in the dishwasher within a short period of time or in earlier days, there were telephones, where one needed to sit in one place and talk, but now with smartphones, one can travel around and talk wherever.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I have a tendency to object to this development. First of all, the current lifestyle poses threats to the planet. Because of the acceleration of the economy, it leads to the rapid growth of houses, factories, and various amenities that are used for entertainment and daily living. As a result, a large amount of industrial and domestic waste has been discharged into the environment such as untreated wastewater and domestic waste which subsequently result in the reduction of natural habitats and the existence of new types of pollution, such as light pollution or radioactive pollution. Moreover, the prevalence of dependence of humans on machinery is alarming and that has varied adverse effects. Technology significantly alters our lifestyle as previous actions that took human input can now be computed and executed by a machine without human interference, therefore, it encourages human laziness which puts themselves at greater risk of heart and circulatory disease. Besides, it also can lead to the loss of basic life skills such as household chores and effective communication.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the critics of modern lifestyles. While it has made a positive impact on us, this phenomenon has negative consequences for the environment and humans.