Are museums and art galleries still important? - Opinion Essay - IELTS WARRIOR

*Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?*

These days, some believe that it is no longer necessary to build public museums or art exhibitions because of the use of computers to view historical artefacts and artworks. In my opinion, I firmly disagree with this statement because I think these destinations offer a more realistic experience and play a crucial role in education.

One of the primary advantages of places such as public museums and art galleries is the way they foster realistic experiences. Although many historical objects and artworks are available on the Internet, they are such casual images that are not as intriguing as seeing them in person. This is because individuals can have opportunities to see their favourite objects in a particular setting, which helps visitors immerse themselves in the objects' anecdotes. For example, when a group of Indian tourists visited the Vietnamese weapons museum, they were impressed by the historical re-enactments of the development of weapons in a spacious room, which made them feel as if they were in those periods.

Beyond the benefit of improving experiences, they contribute to preserving heritage items. By spreading visitors' memorable experiences, these artefacts can become more well-known and attract more tourists. This practice can improve the budgets of cultural institutions, which may utilise for protecting artefacts. For instance, several art exhibitions in Vietnam charge a reasonable entrance fee to create funds to repair numerous Vietnamese traditional masterpieces. Since the quality enhancement of cultural items helps them remain intact from the ravages of time.

In conclusion, I believe that art galleries and museums hold special significance not only in providing better experiences but also in protecting cultural artefacts. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the statement that these places will not be essential due to the fact that individuals can use a computer to watch heritage items and works of art.

(24 days left)