Music helps to create an environment without barrier for people to understand more about each other

IELTS Writing part 2 - Music

Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Connecting people all over the world altogether is an irreversible trend of mankind civilization. There have been multiple methods invented to foster this process. Among them, music is an effective tool for making people coming from different cultures and ages understand more about each other.

Though music cannot coherently convey a story like language, composers can control the perception of the audience through the organization of notes in their pieces of music. People can easily distinguish musical emotions such as happiness, sadness, hopefulness, peacefulness,.etc. Therefore, music can raise common emotion, which helps to connect listeners altogether no matter their differences.

In addition to connecting people through emotion, music can also connect them by mitigating cultural peculiarity. Like language, music is a critical part of almost every culture and can be used for propagating features of the culture. But unlike language, music can be absorbed easier, thereby it helps people get acquainted with other cultures at ease. For instance, many people can easily learn English through singing English songs or singer groups nowadays contribute much in spreading the culture of their country to their foreign fans.

Music also helps to shorten the distance between generations. A lot of songs are written for a specific age, which seems to be a barrier but actually can be made use for making closer relationships. For example, a mom can play Baby Shark songs to make the baby happy or a man can sing some classical songs as a gift on the birthday of his grandmother. In such situations, songs become a special gift for exchanging between generations.

In conclusion, thanks to three features which are creating the same emotions among listeners, being easily absorbed, and being featured by culture and generation, music helps to create an environment having no barrier for people to understand more about each other.