SAT - Is it always necessary to find new solutions to problems?

Hi, I'm preparing for my SATs, here is the prompt :)

Is it always necessary to find new solutions to problems?

Despite the possible failures and contempts from the conservative opinions one may undertake when one tries to find innovative solutions to existing problems, however, it is the only way for one to achieve progress or attain breakthroughs. In this sense, I tend to believe that it is necessary to search for a fresh method when one is facing a problem. The following examples of Franklin Roosevelt and Jack Welch will illustrate and defend my opinion.

It is inventive method that assures success in solving crises. Take one of the most prominent presidents of America, Franklin Roosevelt, as an example. As it is known for all, during the Great Depression, FDR was elected as the president, succeeding Hebert Hoover, who maintained to manage the depressing country with old and ordinary policies during his presidency. However, his conservation of the used means not only failed to save the country from the fringe of economic danger, but also pushed America into deeper abyss of recession. FDR, instead, devised a brand new set of policies and put it into practice, which was known as the New Deal, targeting the reinforcement of government's role in the economic fields by offering jobs and funds to broke people or companies. His innovation was scorned by other politicians at first, but personally speaking, it is his creativity that rescued the country and led to the economic resuscitation. Were he not able to figure out another way except for the existing ones, it is possible that the America economy would never rise up again or would take a much longer time to resuscitate. Thus, in my opinion, without newly developed approaches, goals cannot be achieved and problems cannot be solved.

Not only do innovative methods facilitate the solution of crises, they also promote breakthroughs from mediocre situations. For instance, Jack Welch, former CEO and chairman of General Electric is one of those who boosts growth of a company, with a complete change in management. Before his tenure as CEO of General Electric, all the employees of the company worked in a classic and common 9 layer hierarchy which causes a lot of inefficiency and zeal less workers. However, Jack decided to take the risk and launch innovations by dismantling the bureaucracy and encourage the workers annually by dismissing those with worst performances and rewarding those who work diligently. In my opinion, although his methods were aggressive and controversial, they were indispensable to inspire the employees and promote efficiency, and were also consequential to the 40 times raise of the company's value during Jack's tenure. Were he not determined to take a revolutionary managing style, the mediocrity would last and the breakthrough would not take place. From this perspective, it is reasonable to believe that new methods are essential in breaking the stagnant condition and promote breakthroughs.

With the above cases stated, regarding Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal policy and Jack Welch's innovative management style, I believe that development of new solutions to problems is a necessity, for it both deals with crisis, and brings about breakthrough.