News: the truth should be objective rather than subjective

Most people think that the truth should be objective rather that subjective when it comes to the news.

Do you think all news is true?

What is the function of a newspaper?

IELTS TASK 2

The main function of news is to inform people about reality so that news should be presented as objective as possible, But the fact says something different. Not all of the news now is based on the truth. Mass media is used to spread an important issue to support certain party. I think it is out of the main purpose of informative media that should be objective.

Back to Nazi era, Media, particularly newspaper, was used as a propaganda agent. Hittler used media to direct people go with what he needed. By this way, we understand that news can be a tool to some group brainstorming the public. It is clearly opposite with what news should be. If we look at a definition of news in dictionary, news means noteworthy information, especially about recent or important events. We can notice the word noteworthy here means essential information that we cannot manipulate or make up a story to replace the fact. Once people get wrong information, they will try to judge something the same with what they have got from the news, even they have no idea about what the truth is.

One of traditional media, newspaper, is still used around the world. although it is now being replaced by some electronic media, it is still popular in society to get information. Newspaper can reach all social classes, started from the poor to the rich and the educated-man to uneducated man. Beside of spreading factual news, newspaper can also be a means of advertising purpose. Because of that, it is not surprising that newspaper is owned by businessmen and some specific allies. While the function of newspaper enlarges, the fact presented in the news is also turned. The owners, which are sometimes involved in a certain party, try to get a support from society by informing lies or non-essential information in order to scapegoat their opponents. It is completely faulty. The absolute truth will always be mysterious.

To conclude, i agree with the statement that news should be objective rather than subjective. As a citizen, i need a news by reading newspaper, watching TV and going on-line, yet i will not always believe what i read and watch. I suggested to not directly capture a raw information. As a smart society, we should categorize a news which is true (or only a rumor) and which is a diverting issue. We must make sure ourselves to not be provoked as what we have learnt from the past. The media should also ensure that the news is the truth as well.