IELTS WRITING TASK 2:Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our...

TOPIC: Online shopping is increasing dramatically.

How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

It is true that going shopping on the Internet is becoming considerably popular in modern society. This trend will inevitably have a significant positive and negative impact on the environment and on job opportunities.

Online shopping can affect our environment in good and bad ways. People will drive less because they can now purchase products on websites. This will result in less pollution and a decrease in road congestion during rush hours. Furthermore, natural resources and fuel can be preserved owing to a reduction in the construction of new roads, buildings for supermarkets, or for selling products. However, more packaging is inevitable if more people order goods online. For instance, I bought a book online and when it was delivered, I was surprised to find three layers of wrappings around the book. Of course, the packaging is important for the protection of products but this will decidedly lead to an increase in paper and cardboard boxes being used.

Career opportunities will also be affected greatly by the increasing popularity of online shopping. On the one hand, the unemployment rate may rise when shop workers such as cashiers, security guards, and sellers lose their jobs. On the other hand, more spots will be available for skilled IT workers such as web developers, web designers, and computer programmers. Moreover, the shipping business will thrive and create more jobs for employees if the need for products to be delivered to citizens' homes increase.

In conclusion, shopping on the Internet has a huge effect on our environment and jobs. It is undeniable that online shopping has brought about many benefits as well as drawbacks to these two aspects of our society.