WRITING IELTS TASK 2: oral communication is more effective than written word

Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that oral communication is more effective than written word. Personally, I wholeheartedly disagree with this statement and this essay will give some points below.

One might argue that verbal language is a more powerful means of communication than written language. This is based on the assumption that spoken language is informal and usually involves body language and facial expressions. Therefore, it can be better understood by people of all ages than written language with often long sentences in complex tenses. Evidence can be seen in the way many young children who have not learnt to read and write yet can easily communicate with their parents, for example, by talking or crying.

Despite the benefits outlined above, I believe that written communication plays a more integral roles than oral interaction. Since there are no records, the latter's ability to convey information effectively, though present, is restrained to the time and place that the process of communication takes place. Meanwhile, written language promotes communication across space and time as long as the medium (maybe books, articles, magazines, to name a few) exists. In this sense, written language can serve as solid evidence for future reference in case any confusions or conflicts occur. Besides, human can widen their knowledge through studying historical documents archived in the form of written texts that could otherwise evaporate by word of mouth.

In conclusion, it is my view that written interaction is of more significance than verbal language for reasons associated with permanence.